I’ll stop talking about what I didn’t want to include on the list now. And instead talk about what I was looking for. I wanted to include romance novels by romance publishers that created or handled popular tropes in interesting ways. I wanted the character development to be excellent and the chemistry between the main characters to be undeniable. Most of all, I wanted books that celebrated love, fantasy, and happily ever afters. I could easily write an article about the 100 best romance novels or 1000 best romance novels. Because there is so much superb writing and storytelling in this genre. But I’ve narrowed my list of the best romance novels of all time down to these 24 books. I hope you saw some favorite stories or new romance books to add to your TBR on this list. And I apologize in advance for the many wonderful romance novels that were not included. I will humbly accept your critiques and shouty comments online about the books I’ve left off. But I will say, it’s an honor to write about a genre with such amazing character development, deep storytelling, and beautiful writing.

The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 95The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 62The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 42The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 3The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 21The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 51The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 10The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 44The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 84The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 19The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 66The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 64The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 35The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 14The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 40The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 75The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 63The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 40The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 80The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 21The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 72The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 39The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 5The 24 Best Romance Novels of All Time - 84