I can’t tell you what exactly it is about fungi that I love so much. I feel like that Simpson’s meme of Marge holding up the potato: I just think they’re neat! I mean, for one thing, they’re really clever for an organism that doesn’t have what we’d think of as a brain. Or a nervous system. Yet they’re clever and adaptable enough to make you wonder what might happen if one day a mushroom or a mold got it into it’s non-mind to kill us all. Add to their eerie, almost sentient seeming intelligence the fact that many fungi can kill or sicken you in a variety of alarming ways, and that some varieties are just downright scary looking, and of course fungi make excellent horror fodder! I had so much fun writing about ghosts and mycelium in Mexican Gothic earlier this year, but now I want to share with you some of the other amazing fungal horror titles I’ve come across recently! I also included one that won’t be out until later this year, but that is so going to be worth the wait.

Frightening Fun With Fungi  - 73Frightening Fun With Fungi  - 20Frightening Fun With Fungi  - 94Frightening Fun With Fungi  - 19